clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Favorite all time Eagles bracket: Round of 32

New, comments

Eagles Madness Day 2!

Hey, everyone! We’re back today with the Round of 32.

Yesterday was an overwhelming success with the bracket and I’m so happy it’s giving Eagles fans a reason to be amped up during the offseason. I got to hop on 97.5 The Fanatic’s morning show yesterday to argue with Tra Thomas about why I had him as a 16 seed. Tra was an All-Pro. I played left tackle in CYO football and wore #72. I thought I was Tra. I loved Tra. Someone had to be Brian Dawkins’ sacrificial lamb though. Sorry, pal. Come on From the Bleachers to hash it out.

In terms of the Day 1 voting, nothing was really, really surprising to me. I thought Zach Ertz (8) vs. Lane Johnson (9) would be a tough one and Ertz edged him out 65.5 percent to 34.5 percent. Wes Hopkins (7) vs. Andre Waters (10) in the Buddy Era was a tremendous matchup between an All-Pro in Hopkins and a hard-hitting fan-favorite in Waters, who sneaked out a victory with 51.7 percent of the vote.

Duce Staley (11) upset Terrell Owens (6) at 57.1 percent to 42.9 percent. I got some flack for having Owens so high, but c’mon. Do you not remember 2004? At his peak, Owens felt like quite possibly the most popular Philadelphia athlete ever. He burned out in Philly, but his Super Bowl performance stands as a shining example of his domination. Duce is unquestionably the man, but Owens could’ve walked down Pattison Avenue and people would’ve laid palms at his feet. When it comes to “favorite” Eagles ever, I just have so many more concrete T.O. memories. To each their own though. I’m just trying to celebrate our favorite Birds players ever.

Here are the matchups we got going today.

Classic Birds

1. Chuck Bednarik, LB/C, 1949-1962


9. Norm Van Brocklin, QB, 1958-1960

5. Wilbert Montgomery, RB, 1977-1984


4. Ron Jaworski, QB, 1977-1986

6. Tommy McDonald, WR, 1957-1963


3. Mike Quick, WR, 1982-1990

7. Steve Van Buren, HB, 1944-1951


2. Harold Carmichael, WR, 1971-1983

Buddy Era

1. Reggie White, DE, 1985-1992


8. Keith Jackson, TE, 1988-1991

5. Seth Joyner, LB, 1986-1993


4. Eric Allen, CB, 1988-1994

6. Clyde Simmons, DE, 1986-1993


3. Jerome Brown, DT, 1987-1991

10. Andre Waters, S, 1984-1992


2. Randall Cunningham, QB, 1985-1995

Andy Era

1. Brian Dawkins, 1996-2008


8. Michael Vick, QB, 2009-2013

5. LeSean McCoy, RB, 2009-2014


4. DeSean Jackson, 2008-2013, 2019-present

7. Jeremiah Trotter, LB, 1998-2001, 2004-2006, 2009


2. Donovan McNabb, QB, 1999-2009

Super Bowl Champs

1. Nick Foles, QB, 2012-2014, 2017-2018


8. Zach Ertz, TE, 2013-present

5. Jason Peters, OT, 2009-2019


4. Malcolm Jenkins, S, 2014-2019

6. Brandon Graham, DE, 2010-present


3. Jason Kelce, C, 2011-present

7. Fletcher Cox, DT, 2012-present


2. Carson Wentz, QB, 2016-present

Yesterday was mostly chalk, but now things are getting spicy. Wilbert against Jaws! BG vs. Kelce! Shady vs. DJacc! Seth vs. Eric Allen! I’m honestly not sure how a lot of these are going to play out, but my upset pick for today is Jeremiah Trotter over Donovan McNabb.

Thanks for following along. I’m having a blast doing this and I’m pumped for the rest of the week.

Go Birds!