clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Eagles players vote Joe Ostman as the team’s 2020 Ed Block Courage Award winner

Some love for the Ostman.

Philadelphia Eagles v Cleveland Browns Photo by Jason Miller/Getty Images

Philadelphia Eagles practice squad defensive end Joe Ostman is the team’s recipient of the Ed Block Courage Award for the 2020 NFL season.

The annual award honors “those National Football League players who exemplify commitments to the principles of sportsmanship and courage” and is determined by a vote from players.

Ostman earned this award in part due to bouncing back from the ACL injury he suffered in August 2019. It had looked like Ostman was going to make the 53-man roster last season before getting hurt.

Ostman had another good training camp this year and arguably deserved to make the team over Genard Avery but the Eagles kept him around the practice squad instead. He played his first regular season snaps (nine defense and five special teams) when he was temporarily elevated for Philly’s Week 11 game against the Cleveland Browns. It was a rough go for him when he got flattened by a nasty Nick Chubb stiff arm but, hey, at least the 2018 undrafted rookie free agent signing finally got to play in the NFL.

Jordan Mailata, who has played well this season and looks like he could be a future starter at left tackle, credited Ostman for his development while not even being prompted to do so. Here’s what Mailata said after his first career start back in Week 4:

“First of all, I’ve got to give a special thanks to Joe Ostman this week. Joe really worked me during all the reps this week and I feel like he prepared me for this game. Even when I didn’t know I was starting, he worked me, he made sure that I was getting a good look, made sure I was getting off the ball, snap cadences as well. So, hats off to Joey Ostman. Smokin’ Joe.”

Ostman has become the new version of Steven Means. And by that I mean a player who doesn’t really play much in the games but challenges the offensive line in practice to get them ready for game day. It’s not a job that will typically get much glory so it’s nice to see Ostman’s teammates give him some recognition by voting him as this year’s winner.

Philadelphia Eagles Ed Block Courage Award Recipients

2020 Joe Ostman

2019 Brandon Brooks

2018 Carson Wentz

2017 Joe Walker

2016 Nolan Carroll

2015 Fletcher Cox

2014 Jeremy Maclin

2013 Jason Kelce

2012 Colt Anderson

2011 Mike Patterson

2010 Jason Avant

2009 Michael Vick

2008 Jon Dorenbos

2007 Montae Reagor

2006 Jerome McDougle

2005 Chad Lewis

2004 Derrick Burgess

2003 Correll Buckhalter

2002 Shawn Barber

2001 Duce Staley & Tommy Brasher

2000 Cecil Martin

1999 Mike Mamula

1998 Bobby Taylor

1997 Rhett Hall

1996 Kevin Turner

1995 Charlie Garner

1994 Fred Barnett

1993 Andre Waters

1992 Jerome Brown

1991 David Alexander

1990 Ron Solt

1989 Mike Quick

1988 Wes Hopkins

1987 Gerry Feehery

1986 Jody Schultz

1985 Ron Jaworski

1984 John Spagnola

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bleeding Green Nation Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Philadelphia Eagles news from Bleeding Green Nation