clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Eagles designate three practice squad protections ahead of Week 11


NFL: NOV 01 Cowboys at Eagles Photo by Kyle Ross/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

New this season, NFL teams are now permitted to protect up to four of their 16 practice squad members from being poached by other clubs on a weekly basis.

The Philadelphia Eagles designated the following three players ahead of their Week 10 game against the Cleveland Browns: tight end Caleb Wilson, defensive tackle Raequan Williams, and safety Grayland Arnold.


The Eagles protected Wilson before elevating him to the game day roster in Week 10. He served as the third tight end behind Dallas Goedert and Richard Rogers.

The Eagles protecting Wilson again could be a sign that Zach Ertz isn’t ready to play against the Browns despite the fact that his 21-day practice window was activated. At the very least, the team is preparing for that possibility.


It looks like the Eagles are planning to elevate Williams to be the fourth defensive tackle behind Fletcher Cox, Javon Hargrave, and Malik Jackson. Having Williams around gives the Eagles some extra beef to held defend against the Browns’ rushing attack.


The Eagles can’t elevate Arnold to the roster since they’ve already done that twice. Seems like this protection has more to do with making sure no one else poaches him away from Philly. The team likes Arnold’s upside.


That Jamon Brown wasn’t protected this week could be a sign that Isaac Seumalo is ready to return for Sunday’s game.

See below for a current look at the Eagles’ 2020 practice squad.

Format: Position, player, (times protected this season), [times elevated this season]

TE Caleb Wilson (2) [1] — Protected this week

DT Raequan Williams (2) [1] — Protected this week

S Grayland Arnold (4) [2] — Protected this week

RB Adrian Killins (1) [1]

RB Elijah Holyfield (0) [0]

WR Deontay Burnett (4) [2]

TE Jason Croom (2) [2]

TE Hakeem Butler (0) [0]

OT Prince Tega Wanogho (1) [0]

OG Jamon Brown (2) [1]

DT T.Y. McGill (6) [2]

DE Joe Ostman (2) [0]

DE Shareef Miller (0) [0]

DT Treyvon Hester (0) [0]

LB Rashad Smith (0) [0]

S Elijah Riley (2) [2]

{DE Matt Leo — international spot - doesn’t count towards limit}