clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Eagles reveal their five team captains for the 2019 season

The players have spoken.

Washington Redskins v Philadelphia Eagles Photo by Elsa/Getty Images

For the third year in a row, Philadelphia Eagles players voted to designate five team captains for the upcoming NFL season. These players will get to wear the “C” logo on their jerseys, as seen in the picture above this article.

The five Eagles captains for 2019:

Carson Wentz - Starting quarterback

Jason Kelce - Starting center

Malcolm Jenkins - Starting safety

Fletcher Cox - Starting defensive tackle

Kamu Grugier-Hill - Special teams ace and starting linebacker

If you’re been paying close attention, you’ll know that these five captains are the same exact ones the Eagles had in 2018. The team is sticking with the two offensive players (Wentz and Kelce), two defensive players (Jenkins and Cox), and one special teams player (Grugier-Hill) formula.

2019 marks the third year in a row that Wentz and Jenkins are captains so they’ll each have three gold stars under their “C” logo. Kelce, Cox, and Grugier-Hill will only have two stars each.

“I’m excited for these guys, because this is voted on by the players,” Pederson said, via Dave Spadaro. “This is not hand-selected by me. This is who the team selected. They view these guys, as do I, in high regard.”

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bleeding Green Nation Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Philadelphia Eagles news from Bleeding Green Nation