clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Eagles players select Brandon Brooks as the team’s 2019 Ed Block Courage Award winner

More love for No. 79.

Baltimore Ravens v Philadelphia Eagles Photo by Mitchell Leff/Getty Images

Philadelphia Eagles starting right guard Brandon Brooks has been named the team’s recipient of the Ed Block Courage Award for the 2019 NFL season.

The annual award honors “those National Football League players who exemplify commitments to the principles of sportsmanship and courage” and is determined by a vote from a team’s players.

Brooks was an obvious candidate for this award given how hard he’s worked to overcome the Achilles injury he suffered back in January. Brooks hasn’t missed a meaningful snap this season and he’s playing at an extremely high level. Pro Football Focus has Brooks ranked as the NFL’s top graded offensive lineman through 10 games.

The Eagles financially rewarded Brooks earlier this week with a four-year, $54.2 million contract extension ($30 million guaranteed) that makes him the highest paid guard in the league.

Brooks’ accolades are incredibly well-deserved. Here’s hoping he gets even more recognition in the form of All-Pro and Pro Bowl honors. Brooks also needs to at least be in the conversation for the NFL’s Comeback Player of the Year.

Philadelphia Eagles Ed Block Courage Award Recipients

2019 Brandon Brooks

2018 Carson Wentz

2017 Joe Walker

2016 Nolan Carroll

2015 Fletcher Cox

2014 Jeremy Maclin

2013 Jason Kelce

2012 Colt Anderson

2011 Mike Patterson

2010 Jason Avant

2009 Michael Vick

2008 Jon Dorenbos

2007 Montae Reagor

2006 Jerome McDougle

2005 Chad Lewis

2004 Derrick Burgess

2003 Correll Buckhalter

2002 Shawn Barber

2001 Duce Staley & Tommy Brasher

2000 Cecil Martin

1999 Mike Mamula

1998 Bobby Taylor

1997 Rhett Hall

1996 Kevin Turner

1995 Charlie Garner

1994 Fred Barnett

1993 Andre Waters

1992 Jerome Brown

1991 David Alexander

1990 Ron Solt

1989 Mike Quick

1988 Wes Hopkins

1987 Gerry Feehery

1986 Jody Schultz

1985 Ron Jaworski

1984 John Spagnola

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bleeding Green Nation Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Philadelphia Eagles news from Bleeding Green Nation