clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Refs actually make the right call in a very confusing situation during the Eagles-Bears playoff game

Let’s argue about what is and isn’t a catch. Again.

NFL: NFC Wild Card-Philadelphia Eagles at Chicago Bears Mike DiNovo-USA TODAY Sports

We have a new leader for most confusing call of the season, thanks to a head-scratching play that even seemed to perplex the refs just before halftime in the Eagles-Bears wild card game.

Chicago QB Mitch Trubisky threw a pass to Anthony Miller, who seemingly caught the ball, but then fumbled it during the tackle by Cre’Von LeBlanc. The refs blew the whistle and signaled an incomplete pass, so no one recovered the ball (except for the ref, who picked it up).

The broadcasters in the booth, the Eagles’ defense, and just about everybody else weree expecting the call to be overturned, and the ball to be placed down the field at the spot of the fumble. But, it wasn’t, and the Bears were back on third down.

And while people are bound to argue over whether or not this was the right call, according to the rule book, it was.

“If there is no video evidence of a clear recovery or the ball going out of bounds, the ruling of incomplete stands.”

It worked out for the Eagles, so who am I to argue, but these rules are confusing.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bleeding Green Nation Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Philadelphia Eagles news from Bleeding Green Nation