clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Eagles win ‘Celebration of the Year’ and ‘Offensive Line of the Year’ awards

All the small things.

NFL: Chicago Bears at Philadelphia Eagles James Lang-USA TODAY Sports

NFL Honors night was a busy one for the Philadelphia Eagles.

In addition to Brian Dawkins and Terrell Owens being named to the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2018, Carson Wentz being named FedEx Air Player of the Year, and Doug Pederson wrongfully getting snubbed for Coach of the Year, the Eagles also took home some smaller awards.

First up is the Celebration of the Year award. The Eagles were primed to win this one since they celebrated a lot in 2017.

This was the first year the NFL awarded the “Celebration of the Year” at NFL Honors. The Eagles’ Electric Slide celebration was selected through a unique fan vote. The NFL invited all 32 teams to submit a regular-season celebration of their choice to compete in a bracket-style voting structure that narrowed until the final four celebrations. Emmy-award winning actor, writer and creator KEEGAN-MICHAEL KEY hosted a Facebook Live Show on Saturday, Jan. 27 during which fans voted for their favorite of the final four. Final votes were tallied, and Keegan announced the Eagles’ as the winners of the NFL’s very first “Celebration of the Year” tonight at Northrop at the University of Minnesota.

I’m sure the selection won’t surprise you.

The Eagles also took home the “Built Ford Tough Offensive Line of the Year” award. This is well deserved since Philly arguably has the best o-line in football. That o-line is what’s going to give them a good chance to beat the Patriots in the Super Bowl.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bleeding Green Nation Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Philadelphia Eagles news from Bleeding Green Nation