clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Joe Walker receives Eagles Ed Block Courage Award

Congrats, Joe.

Arizona Cardinals v Philadelphia Eagles Photo by Mitchell Leff/Getty Images

Philadelphia Eagles linebacker Joe Walker has been named the team’s recipient of the Ed Block Courage Award for the 2017 NFL season.

The award “honors those National Football League players who exemplify commitments to the principles of sportsmanship and courage” and is determined by a vote from the players.

Walker earned the recognition this year after bouncing back from a season-ending ACL injury he suffered in August 2016. Walker worked his way back to earn a spot on the roster as a backup linebacker and special teams contributor.

The Eagles selected Walker with the No. 251 pick in the 2016 NFL Draft. He was the third-to-last player drafted that year.

Philadelphia Eagles Ed Block Courage Award Recipients

2017 Joe Walker

2016 Nolan Carroll

2015 Fletcher Cox

2014 Jeremy Maclin

2013 Jason Kelce

2012 Colt Anderson

2011 Mike Patterson

2010 Jason Avant

2009 Michael Vick

2008 Jon Dorenbos

2007 Montae Reagor

2006 Jerome McDougle

2005 Chad Lewis

2004 Derrick Burgess

2003 Correll Buckhalter

2002 Shawn Barber

2001 Duce Staley & Tommy Brasher

2000 Cecil Martin

1999 Mike Mamula

1998 Bobby Taylor

1997 Rhett Hall

1996 Kevin Turner

1995 Charlie Garner

1994 Fred Barnett

1993 Andre Waters

1992 Jerome Brown

1991 David Alexander

1990 Ron Solt

1989 Mike Quick

1988 Wes Hopkins

1987 Gerry Feehery

1986 Jody Schultz

1985 Ron Jaworski

1984 John Spagnola

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bleeding Green Nation Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Philadelphia Eagles news from Bleeding Green Nation