clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Pro Bowl 2015: Rosters, rules, game time, TV schedule, online streaming, channel, and more

New, comments

Read on for more information about the 2015 NFL Pro Bowl including game time, TV channel, rule changes, and full rosters for Team Cris Carter and Team Michael Irvin.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

The most anticipated week of the NFL season is finally... not here yet. That event takes place next week, when the New England Patriots (along with their deflated balls) and the Seattle Seahawks square off in Super Bowl XLIX. This week's edition of "football" assuredly won't provide as much as excitement or entertainment that the Super Bowl will. That said, millions of people will still watch it anyway. Seriously: 11.4 million people actually watched the NFL's version of an All-Star game last year. Here's to the Pro Bowl.

This year's event will once again be different than the conventional Pro Bowl format. Instead of the conference vs. conference (NFC vs. AFC) match-up, the 2015 Pro Bowl featured a Pro Bowl Draft. Pro Football Hall of Famers Cris Carter and Michael Irvin each captained a team and selected their roster from the available pool of Pro Bowl players.

The Eagles sent nine players to the Pro Bowl this year, but three opted out: WR Jeremy Maclin, RB LeSean McCoy, and OT Jason Peters. The six players that actually made the trip out to Arizona include: PR/RB Darren Sproles, PK Cody Parkey, OG Evan Mathis, C Jason Kelce, OLB Connor Barwin, and LS Jon Dorenbos. Sproles and Dorenbos will suit for Team Irvin while Mathis, Parkey, Kelce, and Barwin will represent Team Carter.

There are some new, odd rules the NFL is implementing for this Pro Bowl, including the size of the goal posts, the length of an extra point attempt, and having extra timeouts. Read about some of the new rules below.

How to watch

Date: Sunday, January 25, 2015
Time: 8 p.m. ET
Channel: ESPN
Online streamingWatchESPN
Location: University of Phoenix Stadium, Glendale, Arizona
Rosters: Team Carter | Team Irvin
Coaches: Jason Garrett | John Harbaugh
Odds: Pick
Radio: NFL Audio Pass (online) - NFL Mobile on Verizon - SiriusXM - Dial Global list of broadcasting stations

Some rules

Game within the Game -- A two-minute warning will be added to the first and third quarters and the ball will change hands after each quarter. This will increase the opportunities for quarterbacks to direct "two-minute drills," which are especially exciting for fans.

No Kickoffs -- The coin toss will determine which team is awarded possession first. The ball will be placed on the 25-yard line at the start of each quarter and after scoring plays.

Cover Two and Press Coverage -- The defense will be permitted to play "cover two" and "press" coverage. In previous years, only "man" coverage was permitted, except for goal line situations.

Stopping of the Game Clock -- Beginning at the two-minute mark of every quarter, if the offense does not gain at least one yard, the clock will stop as if the play were an incomplete pass. This rule will make the team with the ball attempt to gain yardage toward the end of each quarter.

Game Timing -- The game clock will start after an incomplete pass on the signal of the referee, except inside the last two minutes of the first half and the last five minutes of the second half.

Play Clock -- A 35-second/25-second play clock will be adopted instead of the typical 40-second/25-second clock.

Sacks -- The game clock will not stop on quarterback sacks outside of the final two minutes of the game. Currently, the game clock stops in these situations outside of two- minutes of the second and fourth quarters.

Here are the rosters for the game:

Team Carter


John Harbaugh


QB Andrew Luck
QB Drew Brees
QB Andy Dalton
RB Jamaal Charles
RB Justin Forsett
RB Alfred Morris
FB John Kuhn
WR Antonio Brown
WR A.J. Green
WR T.Y. Hilton
WR Jordy Nelson
TE Martellus Bennett
TE Greg Olsen
OT Joe Staley
OT Duane Brown
OT Ryan Clady
OG Josh Sitton
OG Evan Mathis
OG Mike Pouncey
OC Maurkice Pouncey
OC Jason Kelce


DE J.J. Watt
DE Mario Williams
DE Calais Campbell
DT Marcell Dareus
DT Dontari Poe
DT Kyle Williams
OLB Justin Houston
OLB Connor Barwin
OLB Tamba Hali
ILB C.J. Mosley
ILB Lawrence Timmons
CB Patrick Peterson
CB Antonio Cromartie
CB Aqib Talib
CB Sam Shields
Donte Whitner
Glover Quin
Antoine Bethea

Special teams

Cody Parkey
Pat McAfee
PR Devin Hester
ST Justin Bethel
LS Jon Dorenbos

Team Irvin


Jason Garrett


QB Tony Romo
QB Matthew Stafford
QB Matt Ryan
RB DeMarco Murray
RB Mark Ingram
RB C.J. Anderson
FB Marcel Reece
WR Odell Beckham Jr.
WR Randall Cobb
WR Emmanuel Sanders
WR Golden Tate
TE Jimmy Graham
TE Jason Witten
OT Tyron Smith
OT Joe Thomas
OT Trent Williams
OG Zach Martin
OG Marshal Yanda
OG Kyle Long
OC Travis Frederick
OC Nick Mangold


DE Cameron Wake
DE Robert Quinn
DE DeMarcus Ware
DT Aaron Donald
DT Geno Atkins
DT Sheldon Richardson
OLB Von Miller
OLB Clay Matthews
OLB Elvis Dumervil
ILB Luke Kuechley
ILB D'Qwell Jackson
CB Joe Haden
CB Vontae Davis
CB Brent Grimes
CB Chris Harris
T.J. Ward
Eric Weddle
Mike Adams

Special teams

Adam Vinatieri
Kevin Huber
PR Darren Sproles
ST Darrell Stuckey
LS L.P. Ladouceur


Note: this is an open thread. Discuss the Pro Bowl game here.