clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Eagles' Fletcher Cox among players named second team 2014 AP All-Pro

Well deserved.

Eric Hartline-USA TODAY Sports

The 2014 NFL All-Pro Teams as voted by the Associated Press have been revealed. Unlike last year when LeSean McCoy, Evan Mathis, and Jason Peters made the cut, there are no Philadelphia Eagles players to earn first-team honors.

Instead, there are four Eagles to have been named to the second-team. These players receiving votes include: offensive tackle Jason Peters (12), kick returner Darren Sproles (15)*, outside linebacker Connor Barwin (11) and defensive end Fletcher Cox (5).

Other Eagles players receiving votes include: offensive guard Evan Mathis (2), center Jason Kelce (5), offensive tackle Lane Johnson (1), and inside linebacker Mychal Kendricks (1). Cox also received two votes at the defensive tackle position for some reason.

The AP honor is especially noteworthy for Cox because he was snubbed by the Pro Bowl selections. Cox finished as a sixth-team alternate in that regard. The five Eagles players that did earn 2015 Pro Bowl honors include: Sproles, Peters, Barwin, Kelce, and running back LeSean McCoy.


*AP doesn't differentiate between kick and punt returner, which they probably should. Sproles would have easily finished first as a punt returner.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bleeding Green Nation Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Philadelphia Eagles news from Bleeding Green Nation