clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

ESPY Awards Results 2014: Nick Foles and LeSean McCoy snubbed

New, comments


"Maybe next year?"
"Maybe next year?"
Bob Stanton-USA TODAY Sports

In what can only be described as an ABSOLUTE TRAGEDY, Philadelphia Eagles quarterback Nick Foles and running back LeSean McCoy were snubbed at the ESPY Awards on Wednesday night. (audible gasp)

It all started towards the beginning of the show when the Best Breakthrough Athlete award was announced. Seattle Seahawks cornerback Richard Sherman beat out Foles, Portland Trailblazers point guard Damian Lillard, and New York Yankees pitcher Masahiro Tanaka to win the award. There's no doubt that Sherman is a great player, but is he really a breakthrough player?

Richard Sherman 2012: 8 interceptions, 15 passes defensed
Richard Sherman 2013: 8 interceptions, 5 passes defensed

Yeah, I didn't think so.

When it came to the Best NFL Player award, McCoy and fellow nominees Kansas City Chiefs running Jamaal Charles, Carolina Panthers linebacker Luke Kuechly, and Seattle Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson were beat out by Denver Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning. OK, so this one was actually deserved. Manning threw 55 touchdown passes in 2013. Sorry, Shady.

Of course, none of this actually matters. It's the ESPYs. As I said earlier today, it's just a meaningless popularity contest. And now I realize it's one that I just spent time writing about and you spent reading. Dammit.