clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Philadelphia Eagles Ed Block Courage Award Recipient Is Jeremy Maclin

Well deserved.

Christian Petersen

The Philadelphia Eagles officially announced starting wide receiver Jeremy Maclin as the team's 2014 Ed Block courage award recipient. This yearly award "honors those National Football League players who exemplify commitment to the principles of sportsmanship and courage." This award is voted on by the team. Previous recent recipients of the award include Mike Patterson, Jason Avant, Colt Anderson, and Michael Vick. Eagles starting center Jason Kelce received the honor in 2013.

Maclin is well-deserving of the reward. The 26-year-old pass catcher missed the entire 2013 NFL season due to an ACL injury suffered early in training camp. It was a long rehab for Maclin, the team's former first round draft pick in 2009, but it's paid off. Maclin ranks 10th among NFL wide receivers with 632 yards, and tied for third in touchdowns scored with 6. Maclin is on pace to finish with Maclin is now on pace for 89 catches, 1444 yards and 14 touchdowns. He has clearly established himself as a viable number one receiver. Maclin might also be in the running for the NFL's Comeback Player of the Year award.

The Eagles clearly made the right decision to re-sign Maclin during the offseason. Now it's up to the team to offer him a long-term contract extension since he's scheduled to be a free agent again following the end of the 2014 campaign.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bleeding Green Nation Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Philadelphia Eagles news from Bleeding Green Nation