clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

LeSean McCoy Named NFC Offensive Player of the Year by NFL 101 Awards

Tim Heitman-USA TODAY Sports

The awards keep coming for Eagles star running back LeSean McCoy, who was named the NFC Offensive Player of the Year.

For the 44th year, "The Committee of 101" in Kansas City will host the 101 Awards, in which 101 members of the national media who cover the National Football League vote to select the Offensive Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year and Coach of the Year in the National and American Football Conferences. The Offensive Player of the Year in the NFC is the Philadelphia Eagles’ own LeSean McCoy. The running back had a career year and earned his second Pro Bowl selection, leading the NFL in rushing and setting a franchise single-season record with 1,607 yards, as he helped the team achieve a remarkable turnaround from 4-12 in 2012 to 10-6 and the NFC East crown in 2013. His 2,146 yards from scrimmage also set an Eagles’ franchise record, and he added 11 total touchdowns. At just 25 years of age, McCoy remains in the midst of his prime, and with head coach Chip Kelly’s emphasis on the run, it is not outlandish to think even better seasons could be ahead.

McCoy is the fourth Eagle to ever win this award. Previous winners include quarterbacks Randall Cunningham (1990), Donovan McNabb (2004), and Michael Vick (2010). McCoy was quite the revelation in Chip Kelly's offense.

A complete list of the honors McCoy has received for his 2013 performance:

• FedEx Ground Player of the Week (3x)

• NFC Offensive Player of the Week

• NFC Offensive Player of the Month (December)

• 2014 NFL Pro Bowler

• 2013 PWFA All-NFL Team

• 2013 AP NFL First Team All-Pro

• Self-awarded championship belt (pictured)

Game gear sent to Pro Football Hall of Fame

• Nominee for NFL FedEx Ground Player of the Year - (Vote here)

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Bleeding Green Nation Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your Philadelphia Eagles news from Bleeding Green Nation