Of note in the story, a reason why it wasn't overturned in replay... Since they ruled on the field that it was a "simultaneous catch" they couldn't review who had possession... I'm not defending it, just pointing out this quote in the story.. As I've only seen the "simultaneous catch" part of the rule book posted, but nothing on the reviewable rules:
"The rulebook also states when a simultaneous catch is ruled, you can't review who made the catch. You can only review if it was complete or incomplete."